LPS exhibits music excellence statewide

Several Lincoln Public Schools musicians and educators walked away with high accolades from the Nebraska Music Education Association. LPS had a number of students participate in all-state ensembles along with LPS music teachers being instrumental in presenting clinics and serving on the board. 

Here is a list of honors:

NMEA Young Music Educator of the Year Award: Eli Gillespie, Northeast High Department. Chair and Instrumental Music Teacher 
Bryan R. Johnson Distinguished Service Award: Judy Bush, LPS Music Teacher Leader and McPhee Elementary Music 
Nebraska ASTA String Teacher of the Year: Rob Salistean, Lincoln Northwest High Music Department Chair and Instrumental Teacher and Schoo Middle School Orchestra 

LPS music students selected for All-State 2022

All-State Ensembles 
East High 
Lincoln High 
Northeast High 
North Star High 
Southeast High 
Southwest High 

All-State Middle School chorus 
Lefler MS
Park MS
Scott MS

All-State Middle School Orchestra 
Moore MS
Scott MS
Schoo MS

All-State Orff Ensemble 
Arnold Elementary 
Cavett Elementary 
Hartley Elementary
Kooser Elementary 
Zeman Elementary 

Take a look at our talented musicians below.

Published: November 23, 2022, Updated: November 23, 2022

Two Arnold Elementary students who participated in the All-State Orff Ensemble.